2 Black 2 Strong: Doin' Hard Time On Planet Earth: CD

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.99


2 Black 2 Strong, including members Mean Gene, Johnny Marrs, Warchild, C Dogg, and Dark Chocolate, brought intense political and social commentary backed by MMG in their 1991 debut album, Doin' Hard Time On Planet Earth. Prior to its release, the group stirred up controversy with their EP Burn Baby Burn, featuring a controversial flag-burning song that resulted in Relativity's tape manufacturer refusing to press promotional copies due to its language. Despite some discordance and rebelliousness, 2 Black 2 Strong's album was considered a strong and impactful addition to the rap scene in the early 90s. Addressing issues such as the crack epidemic and civil rights violations, their tracks "Skulls" and "War on Drugs" display a meaningful and incentive approach. While "Iceman Cometh" may have unfairly generalized about law enforcement, it still sheds light on important issues of excessive force. Unfortunately, the group eventually disappeared from the political rap


Condition: (See available options and pricing)

Label: Clappers/Relativity Records

Catalog: 88561-1071-2

Matrix: REL 10712 01@

Year: 1991

Format: CD

Track List:


  1. Ghetto Blasta
  2. Skulls
  3. Only The Strong Survive
  4. Up In The Mountains
  5. Across The 110
  6. Ice Man Cometh
  7. 2 Black 2 Strong (Feat. Gamilah Shabazz)
  8. War On Drugs
  9. Burn Baby Burn
  10. MMG Shoot Out


Notes: All items are sold as is!!! Promotional copies may be/have stickers, hole punched, stamped, corner of artwork cut out, spine notched, missing artwork (front and/or tray card), and etc. No matter what... They're Sold As Is!!!